VSN Tour & Treks

Nepal Visa Information

Nepal offers visa-on-arrival for citizens of many countries. You can obtain this visa at the Tribhuvan International Airport in Kathmandu, or at border entry points in Kakadvitta, Birgunj, Bhairahawa, Nepalgunj, and Gaddachowki when coming from India, or Kodari when coming from Tibet/China. Alternatively, visas can be applied for in advance from your nearest Nepal Embassy or Diplomatic Mission in your home country.

It is possible to renew and extend Nepali visas in Kathmandu at the Department of Immigration in Kalikasthan. For this you will need your valid passport with at least six months remaining before expiry, and a passport photo.

All visa-on-arrivals and visa extensions must be paid for in cash using Euro, US Dollar, Pound Sterling, Swiss Franc, Australian Dollar, Canadian Dollar, Hong Kong Dollar, Singapore Dollar, or Japanese Yen. Please note that you cannot pay for your visa using Nepali Rupees, Indian Rupees, or a credit card.


Tourist Visa:

  • Multiple entry for 15 days: US$ 25 or equivalent convertible currency.
  • Multiple entry for 30 days: US$ 40 or equivalent convertible currency.
  • Multiple entry for 90 days: US$ 100 or equivalent convertible currency.

Gratis (Free) Visa:

Members of SAARC countries Bangladesh, Bhutan, Maldives, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka may receive a 30 day gratis visa for Nepal, providing it is their first visit in the relevant calendar year. This can be extended once in Nepal, by following the same process outlined above.

For Indian Nationals:

Indian nationals do not require visas to enter Nepal.
However, they must possess one of the following documents in order to enter the country:

  1. Passport.
  2. Driving License with photo.
  3. Photo Identity card issued by a Government Agency.
  4. Ration Card with Photo.
  5. Election Commission Card with Photo.
  6. Identity Card issued by Embassy of India in Kathmandu.
  7. Identity Card with Photo issued by Sub-Divisional Magistrate or any other officials above his rank.

Other Information:

Nationals from Nigeria, Ghana, Zimbabwe, Swaziland, Cameroon, Somalia, Liberia, Ethiopia, Iraq, Palestine and Afghanistan will need to obtain their visas from Nepal Embassies or Diplomatic Missions in their respective countries prior to departure, as they are not entitled to visa-on-arrival at the immigration entry points of Nepal.

Visa Extension

Tourists can stay for a maximum of 150 days in a calendar year (Jan 1 to Dec 31).
For further information see the Nepal Department of Immigration web site.


Travel with VSTN, and Make A Difference

Every Volunteer Society Treks Nepal tour contributes directly to local charitable projects that empower and educate Nepali people. By travelling with us, you are making a difference to the lives of hundreds of disadvantaged women and children; you are giving them a brighter future.